Emotional Rescue

Bird

This week has been up and down. Nickie is ready and now is just getting down to weight nicely, but to do so there has been a (little) tweaking to her diet. I never knew how much a certain item meant to her.

She still requires the right amount of calories to function, but enough so she can gradually lose a couple of pounds. Her little something is pitted dates. Those are packed with sugar and it had to go. She did all she could I think in her power from telling me to GFY. A little pout on her lip and she left to train, grumpily (is that even a word) telling me she loves me.

She had her five minutes of fame the other day, (if you missed it check it out on twitter @rottenronnie70 I think I may have posted it there once or twice) and I couldn’t have been prouder. The media of course twisted everything, but it is what it is. It’s exposure for the sport and for her personally.

Friday is the weigh in, I don’t know what to expect the next couple of days. It’s hard because it seems she is on edge more than she was the last time she was prepping for a fight. The last one got cancelled right at the weigh in time due to city by-laws that conflicted with the province of PEI. I have been trying to be cautious about what I say. The rule is think twice, speak once. I can’t motivate her anymore, never suggest anything, and sometimes if I look at her the wrong way…

People of MMA land, please, please, please never ever boo at a fight or scream boring. If you don’t understand what goes into all this training and prepping, then you shouldn’t go to these fights to heckle. Yes they may be grinding on the fence, or on the mat, and it’s not the most exciting to see, but think about the fighters. Try once to imagine how much energy they are expending to get into a position and meanwhile defending themself. If you think it is so easy, go to your local MMA club and buy a month membeship. Endure what you might think these fighters go through. It’s brutal! That’s only half of it, the stuff that happens at home is the other half. The dieting, the family relationship, loss of friends. It goes on and on. I hope I gave some insight into this, and you enjoyed reading youmeandmma.

 

Leave a comment